Traveling the Lone Star State!

Bastrop

Bastrop, TX

The heart of the Lost Pines of Texas. Located just outside Austin, East on Highway 21/71 you will find the most historic small town of Texas. It is the only area in central Texas, and the westernmost part of the state that you will find pine trees. Also it is home to Bastrop State Park and Buescher State Park. Want to get away? You can find the most relaxing spot in central Texas, the resort in the middle of the woods, Hyatt’s Lost Pines Resort.

The beauty of the pine trees has made this area of Texas a little hidden gem. There are many things to do. The state parks offer great camp grounds, beautiful scenic views, and miles of hiking trails. I have camped in this park and hiked the trail. I recommend bring plenty of water for your hike. The scenic view areas offer amazing views over the hill country. Visit at sundown to view the sun setting over and behind the hills. Have a bike? Try riding your bike up and down the steep hills throughout the park. You can also join the MS 150 charity bike ride, a bike ride that begins in Houston, TX, rides through the Bastrop State Park and ends in Austin, TX. Visit the Texas Parks and Wildlife page for more activities at the state park and visit the MS 150 organization for more info on how you can take part in the bike ride.

The historic town of Bastrop has slowly been renovated within the past few years thanks to the Lost Pines Resort. In the historic town you will find many of the structures that were built long ago, post civil war and about 130 historic buildings. There are a couple of stores/shops that have been there since the 1960’s, the pharmacy on main street, where you can get some Blue Bell ice cream along with your meds. There are some restaurants with live music on the weekends if you’re looking for a little nite scene. The town is located along the Colorado River. Drive down to the park along the river for a family picnic or go canoeing/kayaking on the river.

This town is close to my heart because it is where part of my family grew up. I wrote about the places I like to visit and what I would do. I hope you enjoy your visit to Bastrop and please let me know how your trip turned out.

3 responses

  1. P.S.

    Buddy, you really need to make it a habit to start writing in this blog…I want to know more about Texas!!

    December 25, 2011 at 11:42 am

  2. I’m glad you found my blog! I’ll certainly be using yours when travelinglitely heads for Texas next year. Austin and the Hill Country are on the agenda, so we’ll make sure Bastrop makes the list as well!

    November 14, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    • Awesome! The Hill Country is beautiful. Austin is a great place to start. I’ve been there many times, but haven’t had an idea on what to write about. There’s so much I love about that city. Let me know where you go and what you think about it.

      November 15, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Leave a comment